Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | June 8, 2013

Sealing the Porch-Making it Shine

It’s been ANOTHER big project week at the small house.

This week I cleaned and re-sealed the cement covered porch floor and egress pad at my studio. I never would have thought to do this except when the builders finished my 950 sq. ft. studio in 2001, they sealed the cement and I loved how it clean and fresh it looked so I’ve kept it up.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m very fortunate to have this lovely open porch on the rear of my art studio.

I’m a person that believes in maintenance and keeping the value of my property up, so I think it’s smart to protect my porch floor from the harsh Michigan elements and I seal this cement every few years.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This is the concrete sealer I use on my cement porch this year.

Originally I used the same sealer the builders used but this time I used a professional grade concrete sealer that my husband bought at Menard’s. On a fixed retirement income having even a 10% off of every purchase and then an additional 11% off every six weeks or so every six weeks comes in real handy to balance the budget!

It’s not hard to do this kind of work but it takes a bit of physical labor, somewhat like painting a room. First Gene blew the porch off with the leaf blower, then I came in with a vinyl cane broom and did a very thorough whisk broom type sweep top to bottom, followed by another thorough sweep with the shop-vac.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

You can see the difference in the color of the sealed from the unsealed floor. This sealer turns a blue until it dries.

Then I rolled on the milky liquid sealer using a long-handled paint roller with a sponge roller. I applied two coats, using two  buckets of sealer for my particular project. I could have gotten away with just one bucket/one coat, but I figure most of the work in this project is in the preparation, so I did two coats to make sure I coated every square inch.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The back porch is now shiny, sealed and protected.

Now the porch is cleaned, sealed and ready for its furniture and a special “Arts & Eats” studio open-house I will be hosting come October.

The next post will show you my studio porch all set up with furniture for the summer!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Love your house


Leave a Reply

Categories

