Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | June 18, 2013

Studio Porch Oasis Reveal

After days of rain, the big wind storm and hours of yard clean-up as a result, I finally unloaded the porch furniture from the pool cabana and set up my studio porch for the summer.

This porch has been furnished mostly by low-cost sales and finds or pieces that were left here by this homes former owners. I just love it when that happens!

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Porch view from the North looking south. A $2.00 garage sale linen tablecloth sets the scene. Lunch is often served here on the redwood table with four curved benches.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A garage sale glass jar filled with tiny pines cones from our pine trees bring welcoming warmth and a bit of sparkle to the porch on an overcast day.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The view of the studio porch from the southern most entry point.

This year my prep work was cleaning and sealing the cement floor because last summer I bought new paisley cushions and painted all my porch furniture. The porch furniture is a mix of old curb side finds, freebees or flea market purchases. To see last years blog entry to see the “before and after” go to) https://smallhouseunderabigsky.wordpress.com/wp-admin/post.php?post=461&action=edit

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This wicker chair and ottoman is a FREE curb side find, painted with new cushioned added. The green three shelf table was bought for $7.00 at a flea market. I coordinated everything with the blue, green, gold, tan and brown colors of the cushions because they look so attractive against the varigated green and brown siding. These colors are pretty and yet super practical colors for our ever-present county dirt and dust!

This porch is one of my favorite places to take a break or to sit and read in the heat of the day. It faces the meadow full of flowers, an active blue bird box, my grand daughters playhouse and the always green boarder from the wood lot behind my studio. I just adore sitting here and watching the bluebirds busy in their box or the dragon flies flit by.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The long view of my porch includes two trellis and climbing hydragneas shrubs I planted.

I hung two small wind chimes picked up for a song at garage sales that tinkle and chime in the breeze and always makes me smile. And, if there is a breeze on our land, this is the location where you will find it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This year I planted pink annuals to bring summer color to the porch.

I added a lot of landscaping, shrubs, ornamental grasses in whiskey barrels and a second hand metal glider, all picked up on the cheap. Each item is stragetically placed for privacy, texture or shade. Most shrubs were moved from other places on our property or given to me by a friend.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This metal glider was bought second-hand from a garden center for just $35.00.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This old wooden wagon was found along side a curb and cleaned up and varnished. I added two flea market purchased galvanized tin buckets and watering can for a vintage county touch.

Studio Porch Collage 2013

This porch represents a pure pleasure place for me. Thanks for stopping into White Oak Studio Designs to see my hand-painted furniture.  Drop by anytime for a cool glass of lemonaide and a garden tour!

Linking To:

1) Lilyfield Life

2) Embracing Change

3) Blue Egg Brown Nest

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Very inviting! I can see why you enjoy this space so much.

    • Thanks. It not about the money spent…its about the ambiance!

      • My feelings exactly!


Leave a Reply

Categories

