Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 19, 2013

The Playhouse in July

“Once upon a time there was a little playhouse near the big woods where three granddaughters played. This playhouse was just the right size for them and sat in a border of perennial’s next to the big woods. Everything from the door to the ceiling was just the right size of the little girls and they loved to play there when they visited their Grandma DJ.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   Playhouse in the meadow garden with block pathway.

As a city child who played mostly in the streets and hung out under the Spirea shrubs that buffeted our front porch, a genuine playhouse seems to me to come right out of a fairytale.  And then when you find one at the side of the road marked “For sale $75.00″ it’s like a dream come true and that included the two plastic red child’s chairs thrown in.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A close up of the porch and the cement stoop I added.

I had begun looking about four years ago just about the time my grand daughter was born.  I was looking on Craig’s List at old chicken coups, garden sheds and outbuildings thinking about how I might move one to my property and convert them to a playhouse. But the Universe had another plan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The little house has three windows with screens in them for air flow and a window box.

On my way to work one morning I saw the sign but it was too early to stop. So I made my plan an stopped on the way home gave the man the $10.00 I had in my purse as a commitment  and drove home to make a plan to borrow a neighbors truck and move the playhouse to my property.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Summer flowers in bloom, day lily’s around the house and mixed flowers in front.

Two days later I had my playhouse at last. I placed it in the meadow bed under a small birch tree near my studio with the thought that my granddaughters could be playing there while I sat in the shade of my studio porch or tidied up there.

It sat for three years (we had that awful seasonal high ground water flooding) and finally I had my plan for painting and decorating.

Last summer I began to paint it having chosen three shades of green. Selecting colors inspired by County Garden magazine, I painted the building using Benjamin Moore, exterior paint in in three complimentary shades of green. I picked green so that the colors complimented my art studio that sits nearby.

Then I began to decorate it for the season at hand; Autumn, Thanksgiving, Christmas. Now ‘its decorated with it’s summer look. Hope you enjoy it!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. What a “grand” place for the grands to play!

  2. Beautiful! Bargain price too.

  3. Adorable! I love little playhouses 🙂

    • Thanks Tricia. I do to and it been fun to play with mine. Hometalk a many of them on the site right now too.

  4. This playhouse is adorable! I think it’s every little kid’s dream to have a “place to call their own”! Thank you for stopping by my blog, your site is so cute!


Leave a Reply

Categories

