Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | July 27, 2013

Fresh New Mailbox

After twelve years we just recently replaced our old metal mailbox at the Small House. Rural mailboxes don’t last long here with plows throwing snow and speeding vehicle throwing rocks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our mailbox bed resides right along side a busy two lane roadway.

I was able to find a metal box that was brown which better matches our homes chocolate brown trim color.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I try to keep colorful flowers in our mailbox bed to help say, Welcome!”

Not a really big deal as far as blogs go, but a definite mood lifter for me and my house!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. We have a mailbox that is attached to the house. I had so much trouble finding one that I liked to replace it that I finally bought a can of Rustoleum Oil Rubbed Bronze spray paint, glued a brass plate over the front to cover the damaged area, and attached iron house numbers to the brass plate. Overall, I think it cost less than ten dollars.

    Your flower bed will put a smile on your mailman’s face.

  2. Love the addition of the flowers. We’re moving into a new subdivision that has a big mass mailbox so no more mailbox outside of the house. Kind of sad. In place of a mailbox maybe I could make one of those mini libraries (that look like big birdhouses) where books are exchanged or free.

  3. I try to do the same. It is one of my favorite spots in my yard.

  4. Thanks everyone. It’s interesting how important a mail box is!


Leave a Reply

Categories

