Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | August 5, 2013

Pro’s and Con’s of Consignment

For me the hardest part of consigning hand-painted furniture is the delivering, picking up and constant furniture shuffle. Quite frankly, I H-A-T-E it. There I said it out loud.

On the pro side I love the finding the treasures, the painting and restoration, the styling and photographing and blogging about the progress….but the other…it’s just a pain in the you know what.

Curetime 4 panels jpeg 4 photos wWOSD banner jpeg jpeg

And I have four consignment locations that I deal with. This fact always seems to surprise people. But I’ve found that most shops in my area have a very limited amount of space and they only want me to bring two or three pieces to each of them. That makes it hard to promote my work or to sell much in a given tourist-season. And in Michigan with our cold, snow and ice we think in “tourist season” here which is May through October.

While I’d really love is to have a booth in a great retail area that I could have total control over.  But unfortunately, it’s just not in the budget so I am making due. And though so many find success in those huge one day shows where many vendors all set up on the same day in the same location… at my age I just don’t have the energy to do this anymore. Nor do I have the big trailer or family members willing to spend a long, hard day helping out.

So I’m testing the water this fall with two studio open houses to see if that option might be the answer. I’ve had open houses before when I owned the White Oak Studio & Gallery but that also has some limitations. And it’s a full spring and summer’s worth of work getting my studio building and the grounds ready for “guests.”

My gallery was open during 2002-2008 in a tighter and tougher economic climate so maybe it’s worth trying again. After those two events this Autumn,  I’ll have a better idea where I’m headed next.

Being in business is a constant series of changes and refinement of business practices and offerings. This is just one of the “cons” of running a furniture painting business. There are more, but that’s food for another post.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Donna! Your work is beautiful! I love your pieces! You have major skills and have inspired me. I am so glad you found me! I will be back to follow your journey and watch your projects unfold! XO, Erica

    • Thank you so much Erica for your kind words. I’ve taken them to heart and will carry them with me where I go.


Leave a Reply

Categories

