Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | August 9, 2013

Our Black Raspberry Season

We have been blessed with a plentiful crop of black raspberries this year and I still have a lot of berries in the freezer from last year. I bag them in 4 cup amounts as that is exactly the quantity needed for my black raspberry oatmeal crisp recipe!

images[4]

All photographs in this blog post were taken from the Internet. Credit to photographer.

So far this season I’ve already made two large batches of freezer jam, enjoyed berries on whole wheat pancakes and cooked raspberry crisp and raspberry shortcake. They have been plump, dark and tasty as usual. Our Labrador retriever, Sassy, has learned to follow me as I go out to pick and she picks up and eats any berries that accidentally fall onto the ground. Sometime I even see her out in the berry patch trying to nibble a ripe berries off the canes. I figure there are plenty for her and the birds as well and I am happy to share.

images[1]

Our blackberries are the kind with thorns, but I can’t complain as they were here when we moved in twelve years ago and we have done very little to them with the exception of cutting off any dead canes in the fall. They just keep producing year after year. I always wear long sleeves and jeans when I am picking to protect my skin from the prickers.

A friend gave me this great recipe for Black Raspberry dressing for a tossed salad. I tried it on a salad last night with tomatoes, cheese and pumpkin seed salad and really enjoyed its flavor. I plan to play with this recipe a little to make it my own. I’ll likely substitute a special apple vinaigrette I buy that I adore. Next I’ll try it on a fruited salad.

15591993-black-raspberry-jam-in-jar-with-fruit-on-white-background[1]

Black Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

In food processor pounce 1 cup fresh blackberries. Press this mix through a fine sieve to remove seeds.(I used a Food Mill.)

In a blender combine the strained blackberries and add ¼ cup balsamic vinegar, 1 Tablespoon honey, 2 teaspoons minced shallots and one teaspoon ground mustard.

With motor running slowly drizzle in ½ cup extra virgin olive oil and blend until emulsified. Season with salt and pepper.

Makes one cup.

I hope you enjoy the bounty of black raspberries as much as we do!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

