Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | August 15, 2013

Roadside Rescue – Butterfy Corner Shelf

This shelf was a roadside rescue. Normally I wouldn’t buy anything like this as I am more into vintage furniture but this looked like too much fun to pass up. And besides it was f-r-e-e!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The butterfly corner shelf with its new look.

I sanded off the glitter and then started by painting a dark base in CCC Maine Blue. I used several different shades of greens including Michigan Green and a couple of custom green left over from previous projects. I’m not normally into so much texture but I felt this particular piece needed movement and some oomph.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Looking a bit 70’s with paisley forms and lots of glitter.

This piece was finished using soft clear wax. I really just played around and made it up as I went along – not my usual style either!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A closer view of the texture and movement created using multiple colors, layers of chalk paint and a swag design.

Even though you could have blown me over with a straw if you ever suggested I’d be interesting in reworking this piece it this was fun to paint. And, I actually enjoyed the final result. This piece is for sale through White Oak Studio Design.

Its dimensions are H 24” X W 16” X D 11”

Linked to:

1) Miss Mustard Seeds / Furniture Friday

2) DIY Vintage Chic’s / Friday’s Five Features

3) Funky Junk Interiors

4) Three Mango Seeds

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. Very unusual piece. Love your paint job.

  2. Thanks for the compliment. Truly, I made it up as I went along. I’ve never painted anything like that before! I realize not it looks sort of “plaid.” Ha ha.

  3. Thanks for stopping by DIY Vintage Chic’s Friday’s Five Features and Fun Festivities. Don’t forget to stop back by this Friday!


Leave a Reply

Categories

