Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | September 20, 2013

Mums and Outdoor Decorating at the Small House

As I mentioned yesterday we just got back from our annual, short autumn camping get-away to Wilderness State Park. One of my first tasks, after getting caught up on the laundry and house cleaning, was to purchase mum’s and mini pumpkins and to begin my fall decorating.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have a real things about scarecrows. This one can be seen outside our three-seasons porch.

I like to buy soft pink mum’s because they look so pretty against our faded salmon turned pink Indiana Limestone “siding.” And, I’ve learned to shop early for them or all the pink mum’s are already gone.

My beautiful picture

Pink mum’s in a tin milk box sits on a redwood bench near our pole barn.

This year with our two painting studio open houses I want our fall look to be extra special too.

My beautiful picture

Out went the dead plants and in went the new mum to refreshen this pot.

My beautiful picture

Part of my turn-around driveway bed.

My beautiful picture

I love how these stripped ornamental grasses drape over the orange mum from last season.

My beautiful picture

This tin milk box was originally from the Kalamazoo Creamery, Kalamazoo, MI. My grand father worked there as did my father.

Hope you enjoy our Small House decorating!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

