Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | October 24, 2013

Vintage Wagon Repurposed As Coffee Table

I’ve been thinking about doing this for about two years now. This weekend I finally did it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I took and old wooden wagon without slated sides that I found as a roadside rescue and turned it into a low coffee table for my living room. This wagon has over the years graced our three-season’s porch, the studio porch and now the living room.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is this totally crazy – using an old wagon as a coffee table?

Why did it take me so long to do this you ask? The truth is… I was afraid. I was afraid a wagon in the living room was too “way out there” and that I would be made fun of.  I also think that my “ultra- traditional” background was also a roadblock.

What changed my mind? When I saw a metal antique child car used as a light fixture in a kitchen over an island, and I thought it was fun. I began to think – why not just do it!

A small budget forced me think creatively and as they say, “think outside the box.” Through the years I had cleaned, stained and sealed the wagon as well as waxed the metal handle. It was ready to decorate! So I shopped my house and found a Shaker handled basket in a terra-cotta color, added two green squash, an orange candle and some small pine cones from our trees and walnuts that were a gift from a friend. I added an old rabbit skin to the other end for a cozy, rustic winter look. A few coasters for cork drinks and I was done.

Now I ask myself, why did I wait so long? It’s quirky and unusual and it works for us!

Would you have done this yourself or not? if not, what would you have used this wagon for?

Thanks for visiting!

Linked with:

1) Funky Junk Donna – Fall Junker’s Unite

Posted on Hometalk

Small House / BIg Sky Donna

Responses

  1. I think it works well with your decor. I try to add a bit of whimsey to my rooms when I can. It makes them more interesting.


Leave a Reply

Categories

