Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | November 1, 2013

Cooking with Tree Fall Apples

I just love “tree fall” apples. I look for them everywhere we drive this time of year. This is one great thing about living in the country. They are imperfect but free.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The gnarled tree in the Allegan State Game Area gifted us with tasty apples this fall.

I have a few secret apple trees I pick every fall and with those found apples I make the most tasty chunky applesauce, German apple cake, fried apples and more. And of course our Lab Sassy eats an apple every night before bed. Ya, I know she is totally spoiled!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sassy is jumping out of the hedge while my husband walks the roadway. I am picking apples!

I usually don’t print recipes but this apple cake is to die for, so moist and tasty. This recipe calls for powered sugar frosting but I think it takes so good as it is. In order to avoid the sugar and extra calories, I just left the frosting off. My husband never noticed!

This is simple living at its finest!

German Apple Cake:

Serving 24

INGREDIENTS:

2 eggs, 1 cup vegetable oil, 2 cups white sugar, 2 cup all-purpose flour, 1 teaspoon baking soda, 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon, 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract 4 cups apples (peeled, cored, diced) ½ cup walnuts chopped 2 (3 oz.) packages cream cheese, 1 ½ cups confectioners’ sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla extract.

DIRECTIONS:

1)      Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease and flour 9 X 13” pan. In a medium bowl, mix together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt and set aside.

2)       Bake for 45 to 50 minutes or until toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean. Allow cake to cool and then spread cream cheese frosting.

3)      To make the frosting: In a medium bowl, combine cream cheese, softened butter, confectioners’ sugar and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Beat until smooth, and then spread on cake.

Enjoy!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. That recipe sounds yummy! I made crock-pot apple butter for the first time recently–so good!

  2. Thanks Boyne. A crock pot sound so much smarter than using my stove top pan! I’ll remember that! This cake is outstanding…I do recommend it. Just 4 cups of apples.


Leave a Reply

Categories

