Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | November 12, 2013

South West Michigan’s First Snow

Snow has arrived early this year in my SW Michigan community – on November 11, 2013. I had been having a “feeling” that winter was coming early to our part of Michigan. We had been working for three months to put the garden to bed.

In fact, this year was very much like our first year in Pullman, 14 years ago now.

Snow on grass flowers jpegs

Ornamental grasses weighted down by the snowfall.

We moved from our old home in Kalamazoo on October 12 and within the month we had several inches of snow on the ground. We were still unpacking, I was busy painting. Gene was making daily and long 10 hour days of driving to and from his job in the city. No leaf pick-up had taken place. Winter had arrived with a roar!

Frost on the pumpkin jpeg

Snow on the pumpkin!

That same year we had 93” of snow in December. I was getting up at 4:30 a.m. to shovel the snow (by hand) so that Gene could get out of our driveway and make it to work by 8 a.m. I spent my days shoveling so he could get back in.

Snow on oak leaves jpeg

A few of our many oak leaves.

In truth, I thought we had made a terrible mistake in moving here. Luckily I know realize that kind of winter only happens every seven years or so here!

Here are a few images of this years first snow I took while practicing with my new camera.

graceful grasses stones jpeg

A scene from the fall and early winter garden.

Enjoy!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Responses

  1. I am in Michigan to and here in Mendon we got some snow to. So not ready for winter:(

    • I love to find bloggers/readers in Michigan. I know Mendon well, having gone through High School in Vicksburg and traveling many time through that area. When I was in HS I covered Mendon for the Vicksburg Commercial Express (then a weekly newspaper). My older brother lived Fulton, my younger brother lives on the far side of Vicksburg. Small World!


Leave a Reply

Categories

