Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | November 27, 2013

Small House Thanksgiving Table

Happy Thanksgiving all!

There was a time when I set my holiday table with lovely antique blue and white Phoenix Bird china, crystal and fancy linen that I spent twenty some years collecting, piece by piece. When set, this blue and white decor was truly beautiful!

But that delicate china had to be washed by hand after each use and I was tired of spending two hours of dusting antique dishes every week. When it came time to move, I sold my dining room table and hutch that held them. With floor space here in the Small House at a premium, and living without a hutch, I sold my dishes.

I’ve come to place where I want to simplify my life and messing around indoors dusting was just not on my bucket list. Without a/c and living off a gravel road, road dust is just part of this country lifestyle.

My bucket list is s-i-m-p-l-i-f-y. Now my Thanksgiving table is much simpler and, quite frankly, so much easier to deal with.

I set my table and took these photographs today where white plates rule!

Table best light USE jpeg

Our dining room table set in “Shades of Autumn” for Thanksgiving dinner.

Strawberry box horizintal USEjpeg

Our centerpiece is a painted berry box filed with pinecones, a large candle and mini pumpkins. Additional candles grace the table.

Plate diaganol USE

Simple white Corelleware dishes and linen napkins on a textured cloth tablecloth.

MInipumpkins large pinecone in bowljp eg

A rustic decoration of a ceramic bowl filled with more mini pumpkins and pine cones.

Dresser very close use

My hand-painted dresser turned sideboard is decorated for the season.

I’m off to begin cooking my traditional Thanksgiving dinner; turkey, stuffing, potatoes, gravy and two kinds of cranberry salad.  Please enjoy our simple and rustic table-scape and have a wonderful Thanksgiving with your loved ones!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

