Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | December 12, 2013

Low Key Chrismas at the Small House

I am likely the only person in blog land that does not put up a holiday tree or decorate their house to the hilt. This is probably considered practically sacrilegious!

2013 festival of trees collage 5 w text jpeg

Honestly I am not a Grinch but we just don’t have space right now in this Small House for a real decorated tree, even a small one. I would have to move a major piece of furniture and quite frankly, where would I put it? Plus we go to my sons on Christmas morning and celebrate with his tree so that is enough for me.

What we do for the holidays is put twinkly lights up on the outside of our home and put up a lit small grapevine tree on our back porch. I also gather and arrange natural materials and create living arrangements for the outside of our home.

Berries medium close use

Last year I was able to decorate the playhouse before the deep snow arrived but this year the snow beat me and I didn’t make it happen.

PicMonkey Collage HH Jpg

We have a LOT of lake effect snow here in SW Michigan. The warm waters of Lake Michigan cause a LOT of snow to fall here. When I say a lot of snow, some years this means 93 inches of snow in December alone!

Red tree

And because our budget is tight, Gene and I are responsible for all snow removal so this means several hours of physical work to stay on top of snow removal, every snowy day. At ages 68 and 62, snow removal becomes a major focus of our time and energy this time of year.

Santas chair

Since I don’t decorate my own tree, I took photographs of the local Festival of Trees event to add a festive touch to this blog. Please enjoy!

Wall mural

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

