Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | December 26, 2013

Our Old-Fashioned Christmas

I hope everyone had a blessed holiday yesterday and enjoyed themselves on this special day as much as I did. I’m enjoying a quiet and restful day after Christmas and I find it is just this kind of day which often is cause for thinking, philosophizing and decision making.

Gene and I drove to Grand Rapids, an hour’s drive from our home to spend the day with my youngest son Darron and our granddaughter Brenna. We had a lovely, quiet and old-fashioned holiday together. We enjoyed a good meal, a fire in the fireplace and a lit tree, presents to open, playing games and we took a walk after dinner in my son’s small neighborhood hill to go sledding. It was a happy day.

Brenna in sled close cute

Sliding time!

We are going through some changes here at the small house and I think it’s time to start talking a bit about them. My furniture painting business is going through a major transition too. I’ll be talking more about that in a later post.

Brenna cute

On the snow mountain!

My son’s life is going through some major changes too. After almost 9 years of marriage his divorce is nearly final. This was not his choice and was hard for me to watch happen and yet he has chosen to take the high road – one of cooperation and maturity rather than fighting and anger. I’m proud of him for that. While I want to protect him from this pain he is a grown man who makes his own decisions. This is how it should be.

Princess dress counting marbles

Playing marbles in her new princess dress.

I remember when I went through my divorce almost two decades ago and I made the conscious decision to hold my head high, to forgive my first husband as well as myself and to move forward with wholeness not antipathy.  I also made a decision to not speak negatively to my two son’s about their father and I like to think that some of this has rubbed off on them as they conduct their own life situations. In my opinion, peace, wholeness, healing, acceptance and letting go is more important than money or material possessions…or being right. As Dr. Phil says, “Do you want to be right or do you want to be happy?”

Darron pulling Brenna smiling use

It’s a winter wonderland!

Of course my primary concern is my darling granddaughter as she navigates this new world too. No matter what he is putting what is in the best interest of his daughter. I try to be there for her as much as I can, to be calm presence no matter which way the wind is blowing.  I talk with her and keep the communications channel open and above all give her as many hugs and kisses as I can. She seems to be doing well, is a very resilient little girl who know that we all love her and that we are all putting her first. This is TRUE love in action.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

