Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | January 7, 2014

The Small House – Blizzard of 2014

When we moved to The Small House it was the year 2000. This was the year of the big snow. By this I mean we had 93 inches of snow in the month of December.

Even though I was born and raised in Michigan, and had been around snow all of my life, I was shocked. I soon found out we had moved to the “snow belt” and I thought we had made a terrible mistake.

Sassy snowon face jpeg use

Sassy the snow dog!

Fast forward to 2014 and as seen by my calendar we have has major blizzard ever 7th year. This means 2000, 2007, 20014 and my neighbor tells me the year she moved here, 1993 was also a year for a blizzard.  Isn’t that interesting? My husband, the romantic, has always said number 7 was his lucky number because our first date was October 7. He’s not singing that same song right now!

Snow on east side of house jpeg

Drifts of snow on the roof.

This time most of the United States is under the same big chill as SW Michigan.  Lucky us!

17 inches on bench  w ruler jpeg

17 inches of snow on the garden bench today.

Here are a few images of our snow as of today, 1/7/14.

Bench with snow jpeg

A pile of snow on the garden bench today.

Blizzard of 2014 w text with Small House text

Go away Blizzard of 2014!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

