Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | January 16, 2014

Learning Canva This Week

I have been using Pic Monkey as a photo editing tool for about a year now and have loved it especially when I was using my old point and shoot camera Those images needed quite a bit of editing before they were presentable enough to put on my blog. (I am fussy!)

picmonkey_halloween_contest1[1]

Pic Monkey as a photo editing tool.

But once I bought my new Cannon DSL camera I found that I no longer needed to do as much editing as before and then I was using Pic Monkey mostly for graphic layouts. But of late, I have found myself bored with Pic Monkey or wishing I had more layout options but in truth I’m just too cheap to pay the monthly fee.

Small House

 I created this card layout using Canva.

A couple of weeks ago I read about a brand new free amateur graphic design program called Canva.  I first investigated  canva.com and decided to give this program a try.

I had a bit of trouble getting signed up and had to update my Google Chrome but once that was completed I began to experiment. In the meantime I connected with a customer service rep “Hazel” who has quickly replies to my posts for help. She is a peach!

- FROM THE ALLGAIER_LAMBERTI'S (1)

Another card layout. This is a super simple one to try when you are first learning the program.

I’ve been experimenting and have found the system quite easy, even for an old dog like me.  It’s similar to PicMonkey but functioning at the next level of creativity.

I love the large number of layout options – all of which are ready made for social networking and blogs.

Canva offers multiple choice of layouts appropriate for:

  • Social Media
  • Card Photo Collage
  • Documents
  • Presentations
  • Blog Graphic
  • Facebook Cover

There are a lot of canva tutorials on YouTube and I encourage you to review them. This is how I began to familiarize myself with the program and personally have found them very helpful. I also like the dozens and dozens of banner that are available. Most graphics are free but some of the stock photographs costs $1.00, so be aware to look for free when you are searching and choosing from the many options available.

Here’s a few of the graphics (above and below) I’ve made this week….

Organic... (1)

A Facebook cover 01:

Organic... (3)

Facebook cover 02

-The angels smiled the day you were

Easy peasy to make card. Try it!

Disclosure: I wrote this post on my own, because I wanted to. I did not receive any renumeration from canva.com

I am truly enjoying this program! Thank you canva!

Have fun with canva!!

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

