Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | January 21, 2014

Why I Like My Bedroom Walls Painted a Dark Tone

My bedroom is my emotionally quiet space.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Standing at the door of our bedroom you can see the real color of the blue/green walls of our bedroom.

I know that white and bright is all the rage now, especially in the chippy, county farmhouse style home. The walls of my bedroom are painted in dark toned Wyeth Blue by Benjamin Moore, which in truth is a deep green tone that is more green than blue.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A mid-century stool holds my cast paper bowl under a Suzi Lattner original painting “Big Sky Country.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My artwork is made with plant papers from our property and found stone and driftwood from nearby Lake Michigan.

After 13 years, I still adore it. The color is soothing, relaxing and calming and while I really like the clean look and brightness of a mostly white room in a magazine spread, they are just not for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A dark wood armoire holding clothing, a vintage chair with my handmade paper canvas artwork.

I’m a very light sleeper and a dark-toned room with light darkening shade works best for me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We have a Labrador Retriever  Sassy who sleeps with us in our water-bed. This means comings and goings throughout the day and the night.  This also means shaking dirt and slobber from time to time and walls painted a light color would be a major pain for me to keep clean.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our Orvis quilt selected to hold up to large dogs.

Our spread is an Orvis quilt in medium toned  rust, green and gold that I wash monthly and we taught Sassy to walk into the shower for her weekly bath.  Anything sold by Orvis is fully 100% guaranteed, so if the spread gives out, Orvis replaces it, no questions asked.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our closet wall holds our clothing. Many do not like louvered doors but I find them clean and simple.

We live in the country in the middle of the woods on a sand plain and we truly live outdoor lives. I’m not sure white would hold up here, especially with a dog with black hair!

Sassy snowon face jpeg use

Our Sassy the dog hair shedder!

We also have white snow six months of the year and I’m afraid I’d feel like an ice queen in the cold winter months of Michigan if I lived in a shabby white-painted home.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My bedroom sitting corner.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

