Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | March 6, 2014

Playing Around with House Plants

I’ve been playing around with plants in my crockery collections this week to help the winter pass a bit more quickly.

Ivy brown bowl on woven mat

Brown pottery bowl rests on a highly textured woven rag-rug place mat.

I picked up a couple of small ivy plants in the grocery store around Christmas. My plan is to grow them a bit more and then put them outside this spring on a metal bakers rack that sits  just outside my three season porch.  This spices up my porch area a bit while allowing the plants to flourish and grow. Vertical gardening!

Bean pot handle showing use

A two-toned glazed bean pot turned vintage plant holder in my kitchen.

This idea today quickly turned into putting some green houseplants into crockery bowls and a vintage bean pot and photographing them for my blog and for my Hometalk page, White Oak Studio Designs.

Bean pot close number 3p eg

Glazed and unglazed sections sport a blue number 3 on the bean pot.

Researchers found that several plant types filter out common volatile organic compounds (VOC’s) from our homes. Lucky for us the plants can also help clean indoor air on Earth, which is typically far more polluted than outdoor air.

More Benefits of House Plants:

  • Plants absorb carbon dioxide and release oxygen.
  • They release water which increases humidity of the air around them which help to keep respiratory distresses in nearby humans at bay.
  • I like to look at them in the house and because they actually help to clean the air of my home.
  • When you embellish interior spaces with house plants, you’re not just adding greenery. These living organisms interact with your body, mind and home in ways that enhance the quality of life.

I also found a way to protect the crock from water, salts and any discoloration of the crocks – either a tinfoil square or a plastic coffee container top tucked into the base of the bowl.

Coffee top in bowl shooting down

Brown plastic coffee top protects the bowl from damage.

It’s a small way to feel like my hands are in the dirt and actually gardening, during the coldest and darkest Michigan winter months even though I am not really gardening at all.

Small House / Big Sky Donna

Leave a Reply

Categories

