Posted by: Small House Under a Big Sky Homestead | January 13, 2014

House Proud

I’m not ashamed to admit it but I am definitely a person that is “house proud.”  I love my home, in spite of its many obvious flaws and am grateful for its continued warmth and shelter.

House under large oak use

The Small House just after the blizzard of 2014.

It’s not new (built in the early 1950’s) it’s not large (we have 2,000 sq. ft. for the two of us) it’s not fancy (we don’t even have  a/c here) and still, I’m proud of The Small House that I have created and of the many memories my family and I have made here.  I’m also quite proud that our mortgage is paid off and we are living debt-free. That is far more important to us than fancy rooms, additions or new furniture. Financial freedom is indeed freedom!

Pole barn in snow good

Our pole barn/garage and blacksmith forge sits under the oak trees nestled up against the forest.

I’m proud that this house represents who I am; my interest in color, art, all things vintage, family and nature. When your eye travels around these rooms, you know without a doubt that this house says something about the people who live here.  While these rooms will not be likely to be chosen for a magazine spread, they are used for activities that gives us joy. This house does indeed tell the story of our life here in rural SW Michigan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our living room with the sun streaming down through our large picture windows. My Phoenix Bird transfer ware china sits in our old china cabinet. Original art on wall and cabinet op.

We came here to grow our own food, to have animals, to work with our hands, to be close to the woods and to live a life closer to the earth. While we have had some pretty big road blocks and major unplanned setbacks we have mostly reach those goals and with the blessing of our creator, we will continue to do so.

Bedroom armiorwalljpeg

Our cozy bedroom with corner window. More original art of handmade paper on canvas.

As always, thank you for reading and following my blog.

Small House / Big Sky Donna


Responses

  1. You have a lovely home. What makes it so perfect is that every part of it has meaning to you. It’s not just for show, it’s a place to actually live.

  2. You are so kind to realize this. Yes, this is a much lived in home!


Leave a comment

Categories